Organizational & Development Overview

of the Imperial Russian Army in 1730-43.

by Vladimir "Gromoboy"

Attention: The most part of this site is still under construction.

  Russian Infantry in 1730-41. Organization, uniforms, flags.

  Russian Dragoons in 1730-41. Organization, uniforms, flags.

Cuirassiers in 1730-41. Organization, uniforms, flags.

Russian Artillery in 1730-41. Organization, uniforms, flags.

Landmilitia forces in 1730-41


Organizational & Development Overview

of the Imperial Russian Army in 1730-43.

(still under construction)

When Anna Ioannovna ascended Russian throne on January 14, 1730, she found Russian military forces had not changed much since Peter the Great reign. Russian regular army included:

Irregular forces were presented by various Cossacks & national troops, such as Kalmyk & Tartars. In the reign of Anna only Slobod & Malorussian (Ukrainian) Cossacks have stable organisation & administration. The first were organized in 5 regiments, & the second - in 10.

Having just ascended Russian throne, Empress Anna created Military Commission to reform Russian Military. An other serious step was the raising of the third Guard regiment - Izmailovskiy, as distinct from two old Peter's regiments.

Regular Infantry.

On June 14, 1731 Anna confirmed a new staff of Russian regular army, it would include:

In this course were disbanded 2 Fusilier regiments:

Besides this, Grenadier companies of the Fusilier regiments were disbanded as an independent unit, & grenadiers were distributed among the rest 8 Fusilier companies, 16 in each. Grenadiers officers & NCO's stayed at regimental staff.

Anna Ionnovna also introduced different regimental staffs for peace & wartime. The full staff of Fusilier regiment was 1 566 (1 410 in peacetime) men after Leonov [1], Russian historian Maslovskiy wrote that it was 1 496 [3].

Regular cavalry.

During the reign of Anna Ionnovna in Russian army appeared a new type of cavalry - Cuirassiers. On November 18, 1741 Vyborg Dragoon regiment was converted to heavy cavalry & named after Field Marshal Minikh. On November 1, 1732 Neva became Leib-Cuirassiers & Yaroslavl - the 3-rd Cuirassier. Later it was renamed after Prince Anton-Ulrik v. Braunshveig-Bevern-Luneburg (regiment was called Bevern), then Karl v. Braunshveig-Bevern-Luneburg (regiment was called Braunshveig). The initiator of this reform was FM Minikh, he wanted to convert 10 Dragoon regiments to Cuirassiers, but this plan failed, & only 3 regiments were completed.

Comments, questions, etc:

  Back to the Main Page.

Используются технологии uCoz